Brome-Missisquoi

At the Quebec-Vermont border, from the Sutton Mountains to Brome Lake, the Brome-Missisquoi regional municipal county offers magnificent panoramas of the surrounding mountains, forests, farmland, and waterways. As early as the end of the 18th century, Lake Champlain and Missisquoi Bay opened the way to settlement, making this corner of paradise the privileged cradle of Loyalists arriving from New England. Today, the American and British influences remain in the region’s architecture. The Townships Trail takes you to Bromont, Lac-Brome (Knowlton), Sutton, Cowansville, Standbridge East, Frelighsburg and Bedford.

The Brome-Missisquoi regional municipal county is proud to present the Brome Missisquoi Notebooks, a travel journal of text and images on the region’s history and heritage. Available at tourist information offices.

Brome County Historical Museum

Brome County Historical Museum

Five buildings of centuries past. Articles remembering us that Native  Americans and Loyalists were once in the area.

130, rue Lakeside, Lac Brome (Knowlton)
J0E 1V0
450 243-6782
Email | Website

Sutton

Sutton

Constituted in 1802, the border municipality of Sutton, which covers 235 square kilometres, is renowned for its tranquil rural landscape. Loyalists started arriving here in 1799. Coming from New Hampshire, Richard Shepard was one of the first pioneers to clear the land. Later, in the 1840s, French-speaking settlers also came and brought their culture to the region.The municipality was granted town status in 1962.

An interpretive panel is located in front of the former Brunswick Inn (now the restaurant À la Fontaine), located at 30-A Principale Sud.

24-A, rue Principale Sud , Sutton
J0E 2K0
1 800 565-8455
Website

Musée Bruck

Musée Bruck

Its history began in 1798 with the arrival of the first settler, the son of a Loyalist named Jacob Ruiter. Cowansville gets its name from the Scotsman Peter Cowan, an influential businessman and later sheriff of the district of Bedford. The village was incorporated in 1876 and became a town in 1931. Cowansville is a bilingual, industrial town today and retains its Loyalist influences with magnificent buildings and affluent homes.

Musée Bruck
Discover the Bruck-Lee collection, a permanent exhibition at the Musée  Bruck. This collection consists of  more than 70 works (paintings and
sculptures).

225, rue Principale, Cowansville
J2K 1J4
450 263-0141, poste 230
Website

The Missisquoi Museum

The Missisquoi Museum

Stanbridge East was founded in 1801 and incorporated in 1890. The first inhabitants were former British settlers who wanted to remain loyal to the British Crown during the American Revolution, moving to the area in 1797. The Loyalists cleared the land for cultivation, and thus started an agricultural industry that remains prosperous to this day. The town is renowned for its Loyalist architecture and origins.

This Museum contains more than 12,000 items relating to region’s  history, located in 3
period  buildings: the Cornell Grain Mill (1830); the Walbridge Barn located in  the charming hamlet of Mystic and Hodge’s General Store.

2, rue River , Standbridge East
J0J 2H0
450 248-3153
Website

Bedford

Bedford

Long considered the county seat of Missisquoi, Bedford (1890) is located close to the Quebec border with Vermont. The first settler arrived in 1804.

At the end of the 19th century, Bedford was a significant trade centre with its train station, retail stores, agricultural society buildings, Bedford Times head office, branch of the Exchange Bank, office of the Dominion Telegraph Company, tannery, several manufacturing shops, and smelting works.

1, rue Principale , Bedford
J0J 1A0
450 248-2440
Website

Frelighsburg

Frelighsburg

Surrounding Pinnacle Mountain, the recent municipality of Frelighsburg is the result of a merger of townships and small villages. The original municipality of Frelighsburg was already established in 1845, however, and included the Protestant parish of Saint Armand East. The village is named after one of its first pioneers, Abram Freligh, who came from New York.

Apple production is a major part of the economy, and the village was designated among the most beautiful in Quebec.

1, Place de l’Hôtel de ville, Frelighsburg
J0J 1C0
450 298-5630
Website

Bromont

Bromont

Bromont’s contemporary history starts at the end of the 18th century with the arrival of Loyalists. It was then a preferred destination for Irish and French-speaking settlers, growing together in a harmonious community. The Town of Bromont was founded in 1964 and by the mid-1970s included parts of the townships of East Farnham, Brome, Granby, and Shefford, as well as the villages of West Shefford and Adamsville.

The Désourdy founding family members planned a two-pronged development: recreational tourism and high-tech industry. Bromont’s dynamic growth in the past 40 years has contributed significantly to the success of local industry, sports, culture, and tourism.

15, boulevard de Bromont , Bromont
J2L 2K4
1 877 276-666
Website

Loading...

Région de Brome-Missisquoi

À la frontière du Québec et du Vermont, depuis les monts Sutton jusqu’au lac Brome, la MRC Brome Missisquoi déploie ses panoramas magnifiés de montagnes, de forêts, de terres agricoles et de plans d’eau. Déjà, à la fin du 18e siècle, le lac Champlain et la Baie Missisquoi ouvraient la voie à la colonisation, faisant de ce coin de pays le berceau privilégié des Loyalistes venus de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Aujourd’hui, on voit encore les influences britanniques et américaines dans toute l’architecture de la région. Le Chemin des Cantons vous amène à Bromont, Lac-Brome, Sutton, Cowansville, Stanbridge East, Frelighsburg et Bedford.

Musée du comté de Brome

Musée du comté de Brome

Cinq bâtiments d’époque. Articles rappelant la présence des  Amérindiens et des Loyalistes dans la région.

130, rue Lakeside, Lac Brome (Knowlton)
J0E 1V0
450 243-6782
Courriel | Site Web

Sutton

Sutton

Constituée en 1802, la municipalité frontalière de Sutton dont la superficie est de 235 km carrés est reconnue pour ses paysages de campagne paisible. Dès 1799, des Loyalistes sont arrivés à cet endroit. En provenance du New Hampshire, Richard Shepard fut un des premiers pionniers à défricher le territoire. Plus tard, dans les années 1840, des colons francophones sont venus semer leur culture dans la région. La municipalité recevait le statut de ville en 1962.

Le panneau d’étape est situé devant l’ancienne Auberge Brunswick (maintenant le restaurant À la Fontaine), situé au 30-A de la rue Principale Sud.

Sutton fait parti du réseau des Coeurs Villageois des Cantons-de-l'est. Découvrez son moment d'enchantement.

24-A, rue Principale Sud , Sutton
J0E 2K0
1 800 565-8455
Site Web

Musée Bruck

Musée Bruck

C’est en 1798 que l’histoire de la municipalité a commencé avec l’arrivée du premier colon, un fils de Loyaliste appelé Jacob Ruiter. Cowansville tient son nom de l’Écossais Peter Cowan, homme d’affaires influent et plus tard shérif du district de Bedford. Le village incorporé en 1876 devient ville en 1931. Elle est caractérisée par son empreinte loyaliste, marquée de magnifiques édifices et résidences cossues.

Le musée Bruck vous fait découvrir la collection Bruck-Lee,  présentée dans l’exposition permanente. Cette collection  est composée de plus de 70 œuvres (tableaux et sculptures).

225, rue Principale, Cowansville
J2K 1J4
450 263-0141, poste 230
Site Web

Musée Missisquoi

Musée Missisquoi

Stanbridge East a été fondée en 1801 et incorporée en 1890. Les premiers occupants, d’anciens colons britanniques demeurés fidèles à l’allégeance royale durant la révolution américaine, se sont établis ici en 1797. Ces Loyalistes sont venus défricher les terres pour les cultiver et ainsi développer une industrie agricole encore prospère de nos jours. Le village est reconnu pour son origine et son architecture loyalistes.

Le musée contient plus de  12 000 objets historiques
répartis dans trois bâtiments: le moulin à grains Cornell (1830); la grange Walbridge (hameau de Mystic) et le  magasin général Hodge.

2, rue River , Standbridge East
J0J 2H0
450 248-3153
Site Web

Bedford

Bedford

Longtemps considérée comme le chef-lieu du comté de Missisquoi, la ville de Bedford (1890) est localisée tout près de la frontière du Vermont. Le premier colon installé sur les lieux y arrive en 1804.

À la fin du 19e siècle, Bedford est un centre commercial important où l’on y retrouve une gare de chemin de fer, des commerces de détail, des édifices de la société d’agriculture, le siège du journal Times de Bedford, une filiale de l’Exchange Bank, un bureau du Dominion Telegraph Company, une tannerie, plusieurs manufactures et une fonderie.

1, rue Principale , Bedford
J0J 1A0
450 248-2440
Site Web

Frelighsburg

Frelighsburg

Née de la fusion de petits villages et cantons en 1985, la municipalité de Frelighsburg est tapie au pied du mont Pinacle. Dès 1845, une municipalité répondant au nom de Frelighsburg était déjà érigée et comprenait la paroisse protestante de Saint-Armand-Est. L’un des premiers pionniers, Abram Freligh, originaire de New York, lui a laissé son nom.

La pomiculture occupe un rôle économique majeur. Le village est désigné parmi les plus beaux du Québec.

1, Place de l’Hôtel de ville, Frelighsburg
J0J 1C0
450 298-5630
Site Web

Bromont

Bromont

L’histoire moderne de Bromont commence à la fin du 18e siècle, avec l’arrivée des Loyalistes. Favorisée ensuite par la présence des francophones et des Irlandais, cette communauté s’est épanouie sous le signe de l’harmonie. L’année 1964 marque la naissance de la Ville de Bromont, si bien qu’au milieu des années 1970, la municipalité regroupe des parties des Cantons de Farnham Est, de Brome, de Granby et de Shefford, de même que les villages de West Shefford et Adamsville.

 
 

À l’époque, les membres de la famille fondatrice, les Désourdy, ont planifié le développement selon deux axes majeurs : le secteur récréotouristique et le secteur industriel de haute technologie. Le dynamisme de Bromont au cours des 40 dernières années a contribué significativement à l’essor des secteurs industriel, sportif, culturel, de même que récréotouristique.

15, boulevard de Bromont , Bromont
J2L 2K4
1 877 276-666
Site Web

Loading...