Haut-Saint-François

Wander the scenic roads and highlands bordering the St. Francis River and enjoy their many exceptional viewpoints. Immerse yourself in the history of our built heritage as you admire our covered bridges, churches, and ancestral homes.

Discover tangible signs of the rich heritage left by the American, British, Scottish, and Irish pioneers who settled in the townships of Bury, Dudswell, Eaton, and Lingwick beginning in 1800. The cohabitation of peoples of various origins has left a legacy of cultural richness with a Scottish cachet in the hearts of the villages along this stretch of the Townships Trail.

Cookshire-Eaton (Eaton Corner)

Cookshire-Eaton (Eaton Corner)

374, route 253, Cookshire-Eaton
J0B 1M0
819 875-5256
Website

Cookshire-Eaton

Cookshire-Eaton

The Town of Cookshire-Eaton was established following the 2002 merger of the Town of Cookshire with the Municipality of Eaton. Scenic roads cross through its 567 km2 taking travelers through rural communities to discover many interesting sites. Among them is Cookshire, founded by Loyalists, on a route long traveled by the Abenaki who had maintained seasonal camps in the area.

Cookshire was named for Captain John Cook, who, in 1795, was the first settler to acquire land. Today, agriculture and forestry predominate. Several buildings have been designated historic monuments.

85, rue du Parc, Cookshire-Eaton
J0B 1M0
819 560-8585
Website

Bury

Bury

The Municipality of Bury is home to a number of houses that reflect a former era and another culture, that of the families who immigrated to the Township of Bury in 1836, prior to founding the municipality of the same name in 1855. Of modest means, the ancestors of Bury residents came from the rural regions of Norfolk, Suffolk, and Kent in England. After 1837, a few Gaelic families from the Isle of Lewis and Lochbroom settled in the area. They made their living from farming and forestry, as do their descendants today.

569, rue Main, Bury
J0B 1J0
819 560-8414
Website

Dudswell (Bishopton)

Dudswell (Bishopton)

Dudswell was founded as a township by John Bishop’s family in about 1865 and established as a municipality in 1895. It encompasses Bishopton (1912) and Marbleton (1895), the latter chosen in 2001 to be part of the Most Beautiful Villages of Quebec network. Both are nestled in the valley of a vast, mountainous area. The rapid evolution of the limestone industry led to development in the Township of Dudswell, attracting French Canadians.

76, rue Main, Dudswell
J0B 1G0

Dudswell (Marbelton)

Dudswell (Marbelton)

Dudswell was founded as a township by John Bishop’s family in about 1865 and established as a municipality in 1895. It encompasses Bishopton (1912) and Marbleton (1895), the latter chosen in 2001 to be part of the Most Beautiful Villages of Quebec network. Both are nestled in the valley of a vast, mountainous area. The rapid evolution of the limestone industry led to development in the Township of Dudswell, attracting French Canadians.

900, rue du Lac, Marbelton (Dudswell)
J0B 2L0
819 560-847
Website

Eaton corner Musuem

Eaton corner Musuem

2020: closed

The museum is located at the heart of one of the oldest villages of the Eastern Townships. The new exhibition “A Tale of the Townships,” and temporary exhibitions make you travel in time by presenting the history and the evolution of the lifestyle in the village, thanks to artefacts selected in our unique collection.

374, route 253, Cookshire-Eaton (Eaton Corner)
J0B 1M0
819 875-5256
Website

Loading...

DISCOVER ANOTHER REGION

Townships Trail map Haut-Saint-François Des Sources Val-Saint-François Sherbrooke Memphrémagog Haute-Yamaska Brome-Missisquoi

Région du Haut-Saint-François

Nous vous invitons à sillonner, par les routes panoramiques, les hauts reliefs de la rivière Saint-François qui offrent souvent des points de vue exceptionnels. Laissez-vous imprégner de l’histoire de notre patrimoine bâti à travers ses ponts couverts, ses églises et ses maisons ancestrales.

Témoignant du riche héritage, laissé par des colons américains, britanniques, écossais et irlandais qui s’installèrent à partir de 1800, dans les cantons de Bury, Dudswell, Eaton et Lingwick. Cette cohabitation de peuple d’origines diverses imprègne les cœurs villageois de ce tronçon du Chemin des Cantons d’une richesse culturelle avec un cachet écossais.

Cookshire-Eaton (Eaton Corner)

Cookshire-Eaton (Eaton Corner)

374, route 253, Cookshire-Eaton
J0B 1M0
819 875-5256
Site Web

Cookshire-Eaton

Cookshire-Eaton

La ville de Cookshire-Eaton est le résultat d'une fusion, en 2002, qui unie la ville de Cookshire et la municipalité d'Eaton. Ses 567 kilomètres carrés sont traversés par des routes panoramiques, le long desquelles les visiteurs pourront voyager à travers les hameaux et voir de nombreux sites intéressants. Parmi eux, se trouve Cookshire qui a été fondée par les Américains.

Cookshire doit son nom au capitaine John Cook qui, en 1795, fut le premier colon à acquérir des terres. Deux bâtiments sont nommés monuments historiques.

Cookshire-Eaton fait partie du réseau des Coeurs Villageois des Cantons-de-l'Est. Découvrez son moment d'enchantement.

85, rue du Parc, Cookshire-Eaton
J0B 1M0
819 560-8585
Site Web

Bury

Bury

La municipalité de Bury compte plusieurs résidences d’une autre époque et de styles variés. Cette réalité s’explique par l’origine des familles qui ont immigré en 1836 dans le Canton de Bury avant de fonder la municipalité du même nom en 1855. Les Buryens descendent d’immigrants provenant des régions rurales de Norfolk, de Suffolk et de Kent en Angleterre. Après 1837, seules quelques familles gaéliques des îles de Lewis et de Lochbroom viendront encore s’établir dans la région. L’exploitation forestière et l’agriculture sont au cœur de l’économie de cette municipalité depuis ses débuts.

569, rue Main, Bury
J0B 1J0
819 560-8414
Site Web

Dudswell (Bishopton)

Dudswell (Bishopton)

Dudswell est constituée en canton vers 1865 par la famille John Bishop puis, érigée en municipalité depuis 1895. Elle regroupe en son sein Bishopton (1912) et Marbleton (1895). Toutes deux sont lovées au creux d’un vaste territoire montagneux. Avec l’évolution rapide de l’industrie du calcaire et de la chaux, arriva le véritable développement du Canton de Dudswell et débarquèrent les Canadiens français.

76, rue Main, Dudswell
J0B 1G0

Dudswell (Marbelton), coeur villageois

Dudswell (Marbelton), coeur villageois

Dudswell est constituée en canton vers 1865 par la famille John Bishop puis, érigée en municipalité depuis 1895. Elle regroupe en son sein Bishopton (1912) et Marbleton (1895). Toutes deux sont lovées au creux d’un vaste territoire montagneux. Avec l’évolution rapide de l’industrie du calcaire et de la chaux, arriva le véritable développement du Canton de Dudswell et débarquèrent les Canadiens français.

900, rue du Lac, Marbelton (Dudswell)
J0B 2L0
819 560-847
Site Web

Gould (Canton de Lingwick)

Gould (Canton de Lingwick)

Entre Sherbrooke et Lac-Mégantic, le Canton de Lingwick regroupe les villages de Sainte-Marguerite et de Gould. Territoire agricole et forestier, propice à la construction de moulins en raison des confluents de la rivière au Saumon et du ruisseau Moffat, Gould devient le chef-lieu du canton en 1855. Premier village du pays gaélique des « Townships », c’est ici que les familles fondatrices des Cowan et Hanright, mi-irlandaises et mi-écossaises, choisissent de vivre.

72, route 108, Lingwick
J0B 2Z0
819 560-842
Site Web

Loading...